DEPTFORD QUATRAINS Samuel Pepys 1-6 August 1662

From his diary dated 1-6 August 1662.

1. God forgive me, I was sorry to hear that Sir W. Pens maid Betty was gone away yesterday, for I was in hopes to have had a bout with her before she had gone, she being very pretty. I have also a mind to my own wench, but I dare not, for fear she should prove honest and refuse and then tell my wife.

6. At night, writing in my Study, a mouse run over my table, which I shut up fast under my shelfe’s upon my table till tomorrow. And so home and to bed.

from THE SHORTER PEPYS (Penguin Classics) edited by Robert Latham

Leave a Reply

