Window 135: Day 1

DAY 1: Handover Day

I whited out the inside of the window with household emulsion in readiness for next day’s drawing. I will be drawing the view from inside the window, using a scalpel to scrape away the paint. As usual the white painted surface looked too beautiful to work on. Looking at these photographs I was very pleased to see the reflections from the trees, which creates a wholly unexpected link to my designs for the London & Quadrant gates. When I decided to do a site-specific drawing I did not think it would relate to any of my other work and this simple project does, in so many ways. It’s always better to do something based on enthusiasm and a certain gut instinct and let the subject matter take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

