Orkney: The St Magnus Festival, GREENVOE, SVANG, Sunday 21st June

Excitingly we had to get the bus to Stromness from Kirkwall. The countryside was shrouded in mist and rain and the town was slick with it.  We had just enough time for a wander down the main street until the performance in the Town Hall.  GREENVOE has words by Stewart Conn after George McKay Brown and music by Alaisdair Nicholson.  The music was performed by members of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra.

The Assembly Project – Actors:
Caroline Deyga

Nicky Elliott
Alasdair Macrae
Kirstin McLean
John Shedden

The Assembly Project – Musicians:
Fenella Humphreys –
Rachel Spencer –
Ian Anderson –
Clea Friend
– Cello
May Holyburton
– Double bass
Emma Halnan –
Fraser Langton –
Clarinet/Bass Clarinet
Kevin Elliott
– Horn
Tom Poulson
– Trumpet
Owen Gunnell –
Sharron Griffiths –

It was freezing cold – more like winter than summer – and luckily the hall was well-heated. We sat upstairs in the wooden gallery under a high-vaulted tongue-and-groove ceiling.  The music was lovely and the words were reminiscent of Under Milk Wood, though a sinister version, describing corporate machinations in a small Orkney village. Based on novel by George Mackay Brown it was funny and moving and sinister.

We hurried to the bus again to get to our second performance of the day – SVANG – in the Fusion Nightclub in Kirkwall.

Eero Turkka – Chromatic and diatonic harmonicas
Eero Grundstrom – Chromatic and diatonic harmonicas
Pasi Leino – Bass harmonica
Jouko Kyhala – Harmonetta, chromatic and diatonic harmonicas



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s